Ford 9 N or ZETOR Z-25 K?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 9 N has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Z-25 K has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The ZETOR Z-25K suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 38% (138 kg / 304 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 9 N and ZETOR Z-25 K, with the call on each
Question9 NZ-25 KCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?17.6 kW (23.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”17.7 kW (23.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 25 K”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 9 N has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Z-25 K has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 9 N and the Z-25 K.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 9 N and the Z-25 K.
Which pumps more oil for implements?12.0 L/min (3.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Z-25 K.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?362 kg (798 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”500 kg (1,102 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 25 K”AheadThe ZETOR Z-25K has 38% more lift (138 kg / 304 lb) than the Ford 9N (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?1,061 kg (2,339 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”1,955 kg (4,310 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 25 K”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The ZETOR Z-25K is 84% heavier (894 kg / 1,971 lb) than the Ford 9N (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 9 N and the Z-25 K.
Which has the wider choice of gears?3Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”6Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 25 K”AheadThe ZETOR Z-25K has 100% more forward gears (3 gears) than the Ford 9N (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 9 N and the Z-25 K.
Which is faster on the road?19 km/h (11.8 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Zetor 25 K”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 25 K”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?——No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 9 N and the Z-25 K.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Zetor 25 K”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1939–19421951–1968Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The ZETOR Z-25K is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The ZETOR Z-25K has 38% more lift (138 kg / 304 lb) than the Ford 9N (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The ZETOR Z-25K is 84% heavier (894 kg / 1,971 lb) than the Ford 9N (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The ZETOR Z-25K has 100% more forward gears (3 gears) than the Ford 9N (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • The ZETOR Z-25K is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 9 N has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Z-25 K has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources