Ford 9 N or Schlüter DSU?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 9 N has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the DSU has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The Ford 9N suits road haulage better on this data: 12% (2.0 km/h / 1.2 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 9 N and Schlüter DSU, with the call on each
Question9 NDSUCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?17.6 kW (23.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”18 kW (24 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DSU 25”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 9 N has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the DSU has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 9 N and the DSU.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 9 N and the DSU.
Which pumps more oil for implements?12.0 L/min (3.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the DSU.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?362 kg (798 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”—No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the DSU.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,061 kg (2,339 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”1,900 kg (4,189 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DSU 25”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Schlüter DSU is 79% heavier (839 kg / 1,850 lb) than the Ford 9N (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 9 N and the DSU.
Which has the wider choice of gears?3Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”4Traktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DSU 25”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): fewer than 2 gears apart.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 9 N and the DSU.
Which is faster on the road?19 km/h (11.8 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”17 km/h (10.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DSU 25”AheadThe Ford 9N has 12% more top speed (2.0 km/h / 1.2 mph) than the Schlüter DSU (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DSU 25”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?——No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 9 N and the DSU.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 9N”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Schlüter DSU 25”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1939–19421947–1948Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Schlüter DSU is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Schlüter DSU is 79% heavier (839 kg / 1,850 lb) than the Ford 9N (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 9N has 12% more top speed (2.0 km/h / 1.2 mph) than the Schlüter DSU (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The Schlüter DSU is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): fewer than 2 gears apart.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 9 N has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the DSU has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources