Ford 8970 or New Holland-Fiat G 240?
Which should you choose?
On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 8970 | G 240 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 167.4 kW (224.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8970” | 167.4 kW (224.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri G240” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 8970 and the G 240. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 8970 and the G 240. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 126.8 L/min (33.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8970” | 126.8 L/min (33.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri G240” | EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 9,180 kg (20,238 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8970” | 9,111 kg (20,086 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri G240” | EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 8,685 kg (19,147 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8970” | 8,827 kg (19,460 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri G240” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 13,650 kg (30,093 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8970” | 13,650 kg (30,093 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri G240” | EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 18Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8970” | 16 to 18Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri G240” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 8970 and the G 240. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8970” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri G240” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 8970” | 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri G240” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri G240” | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 8970. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 8970” | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri G240” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1993–1999 | 1993–2002 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources