Ford 8700 (A) or J.I. Case 1694?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the J.I. Case 1694: three-point lift. It is also ahead on top speed.

  • The J.I. Case 1694 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 13% (430 kg / 948 lb) more three-point lift.
  • The J.I. Case 1694 suits road haulage better on this data: 20% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 8700 (A) and J.I. Case 1694, with the call on each
Question8700 (A)1694Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?74.2 kW (99.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8700”73.8 kW (99.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 8700 (A) and the 1694.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 8700 (A) and the 1694.
Which pumps more oil for implements?No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 8700 (A) and the 1694.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,200 kg (7,055 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8700”3,630 kg (8,003 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”AheadThe J.I. Case 1694 has 13% more lift (430 kg / 948 lb) than the Ford 8700 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?5,566 kg (12,271 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8700”4,350 kg (9,590 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 8700 (A) is 28% heavier (1,216 kg / 2,681 lb) than the J.I. Case 1694 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 8700 (A) and the 1694.
Which has the wider choice of gears?14Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8700”12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 8700 (A) and the 1694.
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 8700”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”AheadThe J.I. Case 1694 has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the Ford 8700 (A) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 8700”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 8700”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1694.
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 8700”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1694”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1976–19791984–1985Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The J.I. Case 1694 is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The J.I. Case 1694 has 13% more lift (430 kg / 948 lb) than the Ford 8700 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 8700 (A) is 28% heavier (1,216 kg / 2,681 lb) than the J.I. Case 1694 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The J.I. Case 1694 has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the Ford 8700 (A) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The J.I. Case 1694 is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources