Ford 6700 or John Deere 3020?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 6700 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The Ford 6700 suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 6700 and John Deere 3020, with the call on each
Question67003020Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?56.6 kW (75.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6700”55.2 kW (74.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6700 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 6700 and the 3020.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 6700 and the 3020.
Which pumps more oil for implements?68.0 L/min (18.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 6700.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,940 kg (4,277 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6700”1,800 kg (3,968 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,640 kg (8,025 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6700”3,426 kg (7,553 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?5,020 kg (11,067 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 6700.
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6700”8Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 6700 and the 3020.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6700”20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 6700”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 6700”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 3020.
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 6700”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 3020”AheadThe Ford 6700 is available with four-wheel drive; the John Deere 3020 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1976–19811964–1972Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 6700 is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Ford 6700 is available with four-wheel drive; the John Deere 3020 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The Ford 6700 is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6700 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 3020 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources