Ford 6600 (A) or Renault 781-4 (S)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Renault 781-4 (S): three-point lift.

  • The Renault 781-4 (S) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 73% (1,570 kg / 3,461 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 6600 (A) and Renault 781-4 (S), with the call on each
Question6600 (A)781-4 (S)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?49.4 kW (66.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6600”49.5 kW (66.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 781-4 R7594”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 6600 (A) and the 781-4 (S).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 6600 (A) and the 781-4 (S).
Which pumps more oil for implements?35.0 L/min (9.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6600”32.0 L/min (8.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 781-4 R7594”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,150 kg (4,740 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6600”3,720 kg (8,201 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 781-4 R7594”AheadThe Renault 781-4 (S) has 73% more lift (1,570 kg / 3,461 lb) than the Ford 6600 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?3,250 kg (7,165 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6600”3,465 kg (7,639 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 781-4 R7594”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 6600 (A) and the 781-4 (S).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6600”12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 781-4 R7594”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?YesTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 781-4 R7594”No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 6600 (A).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6600”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Renault 781-4 R7594”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 6600”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 781-4 R7594”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 6600”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 781-4 (S).
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 6600”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Renault 781-4 R7594”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1975–19811977–1985EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Renault 781-4 (S) has 73% more lift (1,570 kg / 3,461 lb) than the Ford 6600 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources