Ford 681 or Ford 741/771 Workmaster?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the Ford 681 is ahead on PTO speeds.

  • The Ford 681 suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: offers 1000 rpm.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 681 and Ford 741/771 Workmaster, with the call on each
Question681741/771 WorkmasterCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?18.8 kW (25.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 601”18.8 kW (25.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 701”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 681 and the 741/771 Workmaster.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 681 and the 741/771 Workmaster.
Which pumps more oil for implements?15.0 L/min (4.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 601”15.0 L/min (4.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 701”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?567 kg (1,250 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 601”567 kg (1,250 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 701”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,492 kg (3,289 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 601”1,542 kg (3,400 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 701”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 681 and the 741/771 Workmaster.
Which has the wider choice of gears?4 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 601”4 to 10Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 701”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 681 and the 741/771 Workmaster.
Which is faster on the road?28 km/h (17.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 601”28 km/h (17.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 701”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 601”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 701”AheadThe Ford 681 offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Ford 741/771 Workmaster does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 681 and the 741/771 Workmaster.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 601”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 701”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1958–19621958–1962EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Ford 681 offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Ford 741/771 Workmaster does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources