Ford 6.500 (A) or SOMECA 1000 (TD)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 6.500 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1000 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The Ford 6.500 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 29% (790 kg / 1,742 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 6.500 (A) and SOMECA 1000 (TD), with the call on each
Question6.500 (A)1000 (TD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?69.9 kW (93.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6500”69.9 kW (93.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1000”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6.500 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1000 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 6.500 (A) and the 1000 (TD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 6.500 (A) and the 1000 (TD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?—46.5 L/min (12.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1000”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 6.500 (A).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,500 kg (7,716 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6500”2,710 kg (5,975 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1000”AheadThe Ford 6.500 (A) has 29% more lift (790 kg / 1,742 lb) than the SOMECA 1000 (TD) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?3,550 kg (7,826 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6500”3,525 kg (7,771 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1000”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 6.500 (A) and the 1000 (TD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6500”12Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1000”AheadThe SOMECA 1000 (TD) has 50% more forward gears (4 gears) than the Ford 6.500 (A) (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 6.500 (A) and the 1000 (TD).
Which is faster on the road?27 km/h (16.8 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 6500”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 1000”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 6500”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 1000”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 6500”independentTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 1000”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 6500”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 1000”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1968–19741971–1977EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Ford 6.500 (A) has 29% more lift (790 kg / 1,742 lb) than the SOMECA 1000 (TD) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The SOMECA 1000 (TD) has 50% more forward gears (4 gears) than the Ford 6.500 (A) (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 6.500 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 1000 (TD) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources