Ford 5600 (A) or SOMECA 640 (TD)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the Ford 5600 (A) is ahead on top speed and PTO speeds.

  • The Ford 5600 (A) suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: offers 1000 rpm.
  • The Ford 5600 (A) suits road haulage better on this data: 20% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 5600 (A) and SOMECA 640 (TD), with the call on each
Question5600 (A)640 (TD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?42.5 kW (57.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5600”42.7 kW (57.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 5600 (A) and the 640 (TD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 5600 (A) and the 640 (TD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?36.6 L/min (9.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5600”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 640 (TD).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,876 kg (4,136 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5600”1,830 kg (4,034 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,250 kg (7,165 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5600”2,125 kg (4,685 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 5600 (A) is 53% heavier (1,125 kg / 2,480 lb) than the SOMECA 640 (TD) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 5600 (A) and the 640 (TD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5600”8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 5600 (A) and the 640 (TD).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 5600”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”AheadThe Ford 5600 (A) has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the SOMECA 640 (TD) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 5600”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”AheadThe Ford 5600 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the SOMECA 640 (TD) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 5600”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 640 (TD).
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 5600”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 640”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1975–19811973–1982EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Ford 5600 (A) is 53% heavier (1,125 kg / 2,480 lb) than the SOMECA 640 (TD) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 5600 (A) has 20% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the SOMECA 640 (TD) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 5600 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the SOMECA 640 (TD) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources