Ford 4100 (A) or Ford 4110 (A)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 4100 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 4110 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 4100 (A) and Ford 4110 (A), with the call on each
Question4100 (A)4110 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?39.7 kW (53.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”39.7 kW (53.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4110”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 4100 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 4110 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 4100 (A) and the 4110 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 4100 (A) and the 4110 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?32.3 L/min (8.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”30.7 L/min (8.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4110”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,990 kg (4,387 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”1,907 kg (4,204 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4110”Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the 4100 (A): lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”); the 4110 (A): lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4110”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,370 kg (5,225 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”2,640 kg (5,820 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4110”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 4110 (A) is 11% heavier (270 kg / 595 lb) than the Ford 4100 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?——No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 4100 (A) and the 4110 (A).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”8Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4110”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 4100 (A) and the 4110 (A).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4110”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 4110”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 4110 (A).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 4110”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1975–19811981–1991Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 4110 (A) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Ford 4110 (A) is 11% heavier (270 kg / 595 lb) than the Ford 4100 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 4110 (A) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 4100 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 4110 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • Not comparable on three-point lift: the 4100 (A): lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4100”); the 4110 (A): lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 4110”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources