Ford 3600 (A) or IMT 549 (DV-E)?

Which should you choose?

The figures split: the Ford 3600 (A) is ahead on hydraulic flow and drive; the IMT 549 (DV-E) is ahead on three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 3600 (A) and IMT 549 (DV-E), with the call on each
Question3600 (A)549 (DV-E)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?29.0 kW (38.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 3600”28.8 kW (38.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 3600 (A) and the 549 (DV-E).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 3600 (A) and the 549 (DV-E).
Which pumps more oil for implements?31.4 L/min (8.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 3600”15.6 L/min (4.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549”AheadThe Ford 3600 (A) has 101% more hydraulic flow (15.8 L/min / 4.2 gpm) than the IMT 549 (DV-E) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,270 kg (2,800 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 3600”1,417 kg (3,124 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549”AheadThe IMT 549 (DV-E) has 12% more lift (147 kg / 324 lb) than the Ford 3600 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?1,810 kg (3,990 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 3600”2,090 kg (4,608 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The IMT 549 (DV-E) is 15% heavier (280 kg / 617 lb) than the Ford 3600 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 3600 (A) and the 549 (DV-E).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 3600”10Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 3600 (A) and the 549 (DV-E).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 3600”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “IMT 549”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 3600”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “IMT 549”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 3600”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 549 (DV-E).
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 3600”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “IMT 549”AheadThe Ford 3600 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the IMT 549 (DV-E) is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1981–19931986–1996Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The IMT 549 (DV-E) is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Ford 3600 (A) has 101% more hydraulic flow (15.8 L/min / 4.2 gpm) than the IMT 549 (DV-E) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The IMT 549 (DV-E) has 12% more lift (147 kg / 324 lb) than the Ford 3600 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The IMT 549 (DV-E) is 15% heavier (280 kg / 617 lb) than the Ford 3600 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 3600 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the IMT 549 (DV-E) is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The IMT 549 (DV-E) is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources