Ford 2610 or John Deere 5200 (A)?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 2610 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 5200 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- The John Deere 5200 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 105% (22.9 L/min / 6.0 gpm) more hydraulic flow and 22% (312 kg / 688 lb) more three-point lift.
- The John Deere 5200 (A) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 2610 | 5200 (A) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 30.2 kW (40.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610” | 29.4 kW (39.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5200 (USA)” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2610 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 5200 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 2610 and the 5200 (A). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 2610 and the 5200 (A). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610” | 44.7 L/min (11.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5200 (USA)” | AheadThe John Deere 5200 (A) has 105% more hydraulic flow (22.9 L/min / 6.0 gpm) than the Ford 2610 (both pump flow, as stated by the source). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 1,413 kg (3,115 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610” | 1,725 kg (3,803 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5200 (USA)” | AheadThe John Deere 5200 (A) has 22% more lift (312 kg / 688 lb) than the Ford 2610 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source). |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 1,804 kg (3,977 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610” | 1,927 kg (4,248 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5200 (USA)” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 2610 and the 5200 (A). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 8Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610” | 9 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5200 (USA)” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2610 and the 5200 (A). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 29 km/h (18.0 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5200 (USA)” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5200 (USA)” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5200 (USA)” | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 2610. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 2610” | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 5200 (USA)” | AheadThe John Deere 5200 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Ford 2610 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources). |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1981–1983 | 1992–1997 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 5200 (A) is newer: production began 11 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The John Deere 5200 (A) has 105% more hydraulic flow (22.9 L/min / 6.0 gpm) than the Ford 2610 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
- The John Deere 5200 (A) has 22% more lift (312 kg / 688 lb) than the Ford 2610 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
- The John Deere 5200 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Ford 2610 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
- The John Deere 5200 (A) is newer: production began 11 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 2610 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 5200 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources