Ford 1920 (A) or Ford 2600?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the Ford 1920 (A) is ahead on forward gears; the Ford 2600 is ahead on top speed.

  • The Ford 2600 suits road haulage better on this data: 36% (8.0 km/h / 5.0 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 1920 (A) and Ford 2600, with the call on each
Question1920 (A)2600Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?21.8 kW (29.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1920”22.8 kW (30.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1920 (A) and the 2600.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1920 (A) and the 2600.
Which pumps more oil for implements?30.0 L/min (7.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1920”31.4 L/min (8.3 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,165 kg (2,568 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1920”1,270 kg (2,800 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,290 kg (2,844 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1920”1,731 kg (3,816 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 2600 is 34% heavier (441 kg / 972 lb) than the Ford 1920 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1920 (A) and the 2600.
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1920”8Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”AheadThe Ford 1920 (A) has 50% more forward gears (4 gears) than the Ford 2600 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1920 (A) and the 2600.
Which is faster on the road?22 km/h (13.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1920”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”AheadThe Ford 2600 has 36% more top speed (8.0 km/h / 5.0 mph) than the Ford 1920 (A) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1920”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1920”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 2600.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1920”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 2600”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1987–20001975–1981Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 1920 (A) is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Ford 2600 is 34% heavier (441 kg / 972 lb) than the Ford 1920 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 1920 (A) has 50% more forward gears (4 gears) than the Ford 2600 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 2600 has 36% more top speed (8.0 km/h / 5.0 mph) than the Ford 1920 (A) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 1920 (A) is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources