Ford 1700 (A) or Ford 1720 (A)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Ford 1700 (A): three-point lift. It is also ahead on drive.

  • The Ford 1700 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 56% (623 kg / 1,373 lb) more three-point lift.
  • The Ford 1700 (A) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 1700 (A) and Ford 1720 (A), with the call on each
Question1700 (A)1720 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?17.2 kW (23.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1700”17.6 kW (23.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1720”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1700 (A) and the 1720 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1700 (A) and the 1720 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?29.5 L/min (7.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1700”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1720 (A).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,730 kg (3,814 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1700”1,107 kg (2,441 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1720”AheadThe Ford 1700 (A) has 56% more lift (623 kg / 1,373 lb) than the Ford 1720 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?1,110 kg (2,447 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1700”1,130 kg (2,491 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1720”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1700 (A) and the 1720 (A).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1700”12Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1720”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1700 (A) and the 1720 (A).
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1700”22 km/h (13.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1720”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1700”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1720”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1720”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1700 (A).
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1700”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1720”AheadThe Ford 1700 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Ford 1720 (A) is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1979–19821987–2000Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 1720 (A) is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Ford 1700 (A) has 56% more lift (623 kg / 1,373 lb) than the Ford 1720 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 1700 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Ford 1720 (A) is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The Ford 1720 (A) is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources