Ford 1220 (A) or Ford 1300 (A)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Ford 1300 (A): hydraulic flow. It is also ahead on forward gears.

  • The Ford 1300 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 32% (5.7 L/min / 1.5 gpm) more hydraulic flow.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Ford 1220 (A) and Ford 1300 (A), with the call on each
Question1220 (A)1300 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?10.8 kW (14.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220”10.0 kW (13.4 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1300”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1220 (A) and the 1300 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1220 (A) and the 1300 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?17.8 L/min (4.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220”23.5 L/min (6.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1300”AheadThe Ford 1300 (A) has 32% more hydraulic flow (5.7 L/min / 1.5 gpm) than the Ford 1220 (A) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?638 kg (1,407 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220”649 kg (1,431 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1300”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?606 kg (1,336 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220”850 kg (1,874 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1300”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 1300 (A) is 40% heavier (244 kg / 538 lb) than the Ford 1220 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1220 (A) and the 1300 (A).
Which has the wider choice of gears?9Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220”12Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1300”AheadThe Ford 1300 (A) has 33% more forward gears (3 gears) than the Ford 1220 (A) (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1220 (A) and the 1300 (A).
Which is faster on the road?20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220”20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1300”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1300”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1300 (A).
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1300”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1987–19981979–1982Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Ford 1220 (A) is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Ford 1300 (A) has 32% more hydraulic flow (5.7 L/min / 1.5 gpm) than the Ford 1220 (A) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 1300 (A) is 40% heavier (244 kg / 538 lb) than the Ford 1220 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 1300 (A) has 33% more forward gears (3 gears) than the Ford 1220 (A) (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • The Ford 1220 (A) is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources