Ford 1210 (A) or Ford 1220 (A)?
Which should you choose?
On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Ford 1220 (A): three-point lift. It is also ahead on top speed.
- The Ford 1220 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 60% (238 kg / 525 lb) more three-point lift.
- The Ford 1220 (A) suits road haulage better on this data: 33% (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) more top speed.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 1210 (A) | 1220 (A) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 10.1 kW (13.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210” | 10.8 kW (14.5 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1210 (A) and the 1220 (A). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1210 (A) and the 1220 (A). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 16.5 L/min (4.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210” | 17.8 L/min (4.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220” | EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 400 kg (882 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210” | 638 kg (1,407 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220” | AheadThe Ford 1220 (A) has 60% more lift (238 kg / 525 lb) than the Ford 1210 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source). |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 600 kg (1,323 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210” | 606 kg (1,336 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1210 (A) and the 1220 (A). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 10 to 15Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210” | 9Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1210 (A) and the 1220 (A). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 15 km/h (9.3 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210” | 20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220” | AheadThe Ford 1220 (A) has 33% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the Ford 1210 (A) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220” | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1210 (A). |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1210” | 2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Ford 1220” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1983–1986 | 1987–1998 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Ford 1220 (A) has 60% more lift (238 kg / 525 lb) than the Ford 1210 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
- The Ford 1220 (A) has 33% more top speed (5.0 km/h / 3.1 mph) than the Ford 1210 (A) (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources