Fiat 600 (DT) or John Deere 2020 (A)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 600 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2020 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere 2020 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 20% (310 kg / 683 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Fiat 600 (DT) and John Deere 2020 (A), with the call on each
Question600 (DT)2020 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?44.2 kW (59.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 600N/600 DT”44.2 kW (59.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 600 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2020 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 600 (DT) and the 2020 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 600 (DT) and the 2020 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 600N/600 DT”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 2020 (A).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,540 kg (3,395 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 600N/600 DT”1,850 kg (4,079 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”AheadThe John Deere 2020 (A) has 20% more lift (310 kg / 683 lb) than the Fiat 600 (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,250 kg (4,960 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 600N/600 DT”2,440 kg (5,379 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?—4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 600 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 600N/600 DT”8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 600 (DT) and the 2020 (A).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 600N/600 DT”20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 600N/600 DT”540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”AheadThe John Deere 2020 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Fiat 600 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 600N/600 DT”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 600N/600 DT”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1971–19731967–1972EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 2020 (A) has 20% more lift (310 kg / 683 lb) than the Fiat 600 (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 2020 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Fiat 600 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 600 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2020 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources