Fiat 540 (DT) or SOMECA 540 (TD)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Fiat 540 (DT) and SOMECA 540 (TD), with the call on each
Question540 (DT)540 (TD)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?33.3 kW (44.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 540/540 DT”33.3 kW (44.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 540”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 540 (DT) and the 540 (TD).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 540 (DT) and the 540 (TD).
Which pumps more oil for implements?21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 540/540 DT”21.8 L/min (5.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 540”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,620 kg (3,571 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 540/540 DT”1,620 kg (3,571 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 540”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,865 kg (4,112 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 540/540 DT”1,865 kg (4,112 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 540”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 540 (DT) and the 540 (TD).
Which has the wider choice of gears?8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 540/540 DT”8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 540”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 540 (DT) and the 540 (TD).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 540/540 DT”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Someca 540”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 540/540 DT”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 540”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 540/540 DT”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 540 (TD).
Which drives on both axles?Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 540/540 DT”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Someca 540”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1973–19821973–1982EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources