Fiat 466 (DT) or Fiat 55-56 LM (DT)?
Which should you choose?
On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Fiat 466 (DT): three-point lift.
- The Fiat 466 (DT) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 49% (855 kg / 1,885 lb) more three-point lift.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 466 (DT) | 55-56 LM (DT) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 31.8 kW (42.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 466/466 DT” | 32.1 kW (43.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 55-56 LM (DT)” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 466 (DT) and the 55-56 LM (DT). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 466 (DT) and the 55-56 LM (DT). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | 32.8 L/min (8.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 55-56 LM (DT)” | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 466 (DT). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 2,600 kg (5,732 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 466/466 DT” | 1,745 kg (3,847 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 55-56 LM (DT)” | AheadThe Fiat 466 (DT) has 49% more lift (855 kg / 1,885 lb) than the Fiat 55-56 LM (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source). |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,280 kg (5,027 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 466/466 DT” | 2,140 kg (4,718 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 55-56 LM (DT)” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 466 (DT) and the 55-56 LM (DT). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 12 to 20Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 466/466 DT” | 8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 55-56 LM (DT)” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 466 (DT) and the 55-56 LM (DT). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiat 466/466 DT” | 25 km/h (15.5 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 55-56 LM (DT)” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 466/466 DT” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 55-56 LM (DT)” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 466/466 DT” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 55-56 LM (DT). |
| Which drives on both axles? | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Fiat 466/466 DT” | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Fiatagri 55-56 LM (DT)” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1982–1986 | 1988– | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Fiat 55-56 LM (DT) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Fiat 466 (DT) has 49% more lift (855 kg / 1,885 lb) than the Fiat 55-56 LM (DT) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
- The Fiat 55-56 LM (DT) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources