Fendt Farmer 309 or VALMET 6400-4?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Farmer 309 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6400-4 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Fendt Farmer 309 and VALMET 6400-4, with the call on each
QuestionFarmer 3096400-4Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?70 kW (94 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 309”69.9 kW (93.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Farmer 309 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6400-4 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Farmer 309 and the 6400-4.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Farmer 309 and the 6400-4.
Which pumps more oil for implements?68.2 L/min (18.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Farmer 309.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Farmer 309 and the 6400-4.
Which is heavier, for traction?4,350 kg (9,590 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 309”4,200 kg (9,259 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?8,000 kg (17,637 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 309”7,500 kg (16,535 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?14 to 21, varies by configurationOECD test report 1823, 1999; Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 309 LSA”12 to 36Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Farmer 309 and the 6400-4.
Which is faster on the road?40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 309”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/750/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 309 LSA”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”AheadThe Fendt Farmer 309 offers 750 rpm at the PTO, which the VALMET 6400-4 does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Farmer 309 and the 6400-4.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 309”; OECD test report 1823, 1999; Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 309 LSA”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1993–20011991–2007EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Fendt Farmer 309 offers 750 rpm at the PTO, which the VALMET 6400-4 does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Farmer 309 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6400-4 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources