Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA (Fendt) or SAME Aster 60 (DT)?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Farmer 260 P/PA has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Aster 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- The Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 41% (12.0 L/min / 3.2 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | Farmer 260 P/PA | Aster 60 (DT) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 44 kW (59 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA” | 44.1 kW (59.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Farmer 260 P/PA has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Aster 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Farmer 260 P/PA and the Aster 60 (DT). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Farmer 260 P/PA and the Aster 60 (DT). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 41.0 L/min (10.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA” | 29.0 L/min (7.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | AheadThe Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA has 41% more hydraulic flow (12.0 L/min / 3.2 gpm) than the SAME Aster 60 (DT) (both pump flow, as stated by the source). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 2,450 kg (5,401 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA” | 2,800 kg (6,173 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the Farmer 260 P/PA: lift at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA”); the Aster 60 (DT): lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,340 kg (5,159 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA” | 2,250 kg (4,960 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA” | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Aster 60 (DT). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 21Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA” | 12 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | AheadThe Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA has 31% more forward gears (5 gears) than the SAME Aster 60 (DT) (both forward gears, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Farmer 260 P/PA and the Aster 60 (DT). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/750 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA” | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | DifferPTO speeds differ: the Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA 540/750 rpm and the SAME Aster 60 (DT) 540/1000 rpm — each offers a speed the other does not; which matters depends on the implement. |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Farmer 260 P/PA. |
| Which drives on both axles? | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA” | Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1988–1992 | 1989–1996 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA has 41% more hydraulic flow (12.0 L/min / 3.2 gpm) than the SAME Aster 60 (DT) (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
- The Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA has 31% more forward gears (5 gears) than the SAME Aster 60 (DT) (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- PTO speeds differ: the Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA 540/750 rpm and the SAME Aster 60 (DT) 540/1000 rpm — each offers a speed the other does not; which matters depends on the implement.
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Farmer 260 P/PA has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Aster 60 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- Not comparable on three-point lift: the Farmer 260 P/PA: lift at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Fendt Farmer 260 P/PA”); the Aster 60 (DT): lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Aster 60”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources