Fahr D 540 or John Deere 2020 (A)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the D 540 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2020 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Fahr D 540 and John Deere 2020 (A), with the call on each
QuestionD 5402020 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?43.9 kW (58.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 540”44.2 kW (59.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the D 540 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2020 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the D 540 and the 2020 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the D 540 and the 2020 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?18.5 L/min (4.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 540”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 2020 (A).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?—1,850 kg (4,079 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the D 540.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,330 kg (7,341 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 540”2,440 kg (5,379 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Fahr D 540 is 36% heavier (890 kg / 1,962 lb) than the John Deere 2020 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,100 kg (9,039 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 540”4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?5 to 7Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 540”8 to 16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the D 540 and the 2020 (A).
Which is faster on the road?32 km/h (19.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 540”20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 540”540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”AheadThe John Deere 2020 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Fahr D 540 does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 540”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”AheadThe John Deere 2020 (A) has an independent PTO; the Fahr D 540’s is dependent (stops with the clutch).
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 540”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 2020”AheadThe John Deere 2020 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Fahr D 540 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1955–19581967–1972Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 2020 (A) is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Fahr D 540 is 36% heavier (890 kg / 1,962 lb) than the John Deere 2020 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 2020 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Fahr D 540 does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The John Deere 2020 (A) has an independent PTO; the Fahr D 540’s is dependent (stops with the clutch).
  • The John Deere 2020 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the Fahr D 540 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The John Deere 2020 (A) is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the D 540 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2020 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources