Fahr D 45 L or Nuffield 10/60?
Which should you choose?
On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Nuffield 10/60: hydraulic flow. It is also ahead on forward gears.
- The Nuffield 10/60 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 89% (16.5 L/min / 4.4 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | D 45 L | 10/60 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 32.0 kW (42.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 45 L” | 32.2 kW (43.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the D 45 L and the 10/60. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the D 45 L and the 10/60. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 18.5 L/min (4.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 45 L” | 35.0 L/min (9.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)” | AheadThe Nuffield 10/60 has 89% more hydraulic flow (16.5 L/min / 4.4 gpm) than the Fahr D 45 L (both pump flow, as stated by the source). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | — | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the D 45 L and the 10/60. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,420 kg (5,335 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 45 L” | 2,660 kg (5,864 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 4,400 kg (9,700 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 45 L” | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 10/60. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 5 to 6Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 45 L” | 10Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)” | AheadThe Nuffield 10/60 has 67% more forward gears (4 gears) than the Fahr D 45 L (both forward gears, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the D 45 L and the 10/60. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 21 km/h (13.0 mph) to 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 45 L” | 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 587 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 45 L” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)” | No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the D 45 L. |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 45 L” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 10/60. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 45 L” | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Nuffield 10/60 (1964-1967)” | EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1952–1954 | 1964–1967 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Nuffield 10/60 is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Nuffield 10/60 has 89% more hydraulic flow (16.5 L/min / 4.4 gpm) than the Fahr D 45 L (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
- The Nuffield 10/60 has 67% more forward gears (4 gears) than the Fahr D 45 L (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
- The Nuffield 10/60 is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources