Fahr D 400 C or Hürlimann D-100 S/L?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the D 400 C has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the D-100 S/L has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Fahr D 400 C and Hürlimann D-100 S/L, with the call on each
QuestionD 400 CD-100 S/LCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?32.9 kW (44.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 400 C”32.9 kW (44.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Hürlimann D 100 S/L”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the D 400 C has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the D-100 S/L has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the D 400 C and the D-100 S/L.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the D 400 C and the D-100 S/L.
Which pumps more oil for implements?18.5 L/min (4.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 400 C”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the D-100 S/L.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?—1,850 kg (4,079 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hürlimann D 100 S/L”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the D 400 C.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,570 kg (5,666 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 400 C”1,850 kg (4,079 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Hürlimann D 100 S/L”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Fahr D 400C is 39% heavier (720 kg / 1,587 lb) than the Hürlimann D-100 S/L (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,000 kg (8,818 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 400 C”—No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the D-100 S/L.
Which has the wider choice of gears?5 to 6Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 400 C”10Traktorenlexikon, “Hürlimann D 100 S/L”AheadThe Hürlimann D-100 S/L has 67% more forward gears (4 gears) than the Fahr D 400C (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?—YesTraktorenlexikon, “Hürlimann D 100 S/L”No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the D 400 C.
Which is faster on the road?20.8 km/h (12.9 mph) to 30.0 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 400 C”20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Hürlimann D 100 S/L”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?575 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 400 C”540/1050 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Hürlimann D 100 S/L”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the D 400 C.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?dependent (stops with the clutch)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 400 C”—No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the D-100 S/L.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 400 C”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Hürlimann D 100 S/L”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1954–19571966–1971Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Hürlimann D-100 S/L is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Fahr D 400C is 39% heavier (720 kg / 1,587 lb) than the Hürlimann D-100 S/L (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Hürlimann D-100 S/L has 67% more forward gears (4 gears) than the Fahr D 400C (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • The Hürlimann D-100 S/L is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the D 400 C has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the D-100 S/L has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources