Fahr D 181 or Fahr D 25 N?
Which should you choose?
On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Fahr D 25 N: maximum permissible mass. It is also ahead on top speed.
- The Fahr D 25 N suits road haulage better on this data: 69% (1,350 kg / 2,976 lb) more maximum permissible mass and 48% (6.2 km/h / 3.9 mph) more top speed.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | D 181 | D 25 N | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 17.7 kW (24 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 181” | 17.7 kW (24 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 25 N” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the D 181 and the D 25 N. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the D 181 and the D 25 N. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the D 181 and the D 25 N. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 690 kg (1,521 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 181” | 690 kg (1,521 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 25 N” | EvenNo call on three-point lift: the sources do not state where the lift was measured, so the difference is not a reliable call. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 1,260 kg (2,778 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 181” | 1,853 kg (4,085 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 25 N” | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Fahr D 25 N is 47% heavier (593 kg / 1,307 lb) than the Fahr D 181 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source). |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 1,950 kg (4,299 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 181” | 3,300 kg (7,275 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 25 N” | AheadThe Fahr D 25 N has 69% higher maximum permissible mass (1,350 kg / 2,976 lb) than the Fahr D 181 (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 4 to 5Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 181” | 5 to 6Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 25 N” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the D 181 and the D 25 N. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 12.8 km/h (8.0 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 181” | 19 km/h (11.8 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 25 N” | AheadThe Fahr D 25 N has 48% more top speed (6.2 km/h / 3.9 mph) than the Fahr D 181 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 600 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 181” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 25 N” | No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the D 181. |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 25 N” | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the D 181. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 181” | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 25 N” | EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1955–1958 | 1953 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Fahr D 25 N is 47% heavier (593 kg / 1,307 lb) than the Fahr D 181 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
- The Fahr D 25 N has 69% higher maximum permissible mass (1,350 kg / 2,976 lb) than the Fahr D 181 (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
- The Fahr D 25 N has 48% more top speed (6.2 km/h / 3.9 mph) than the Fahr D 181 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- No call on three-point lift: the sources do not state where the lift was measured, so the difference is not a reliable call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources