Fahr D 130 or Fahr D 17 N?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Fahr D 17 N: maximum permissible mass.

  • The Fahr D 17 N suits road haulage better on this data: 12% (200 kg / 441 lb) more maximum permissible mass.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Fahr D 130 and Fahr D 17 N, with the call on each
QuestionD 130D 17 NCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?12.5 kW (17 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 130”12.5 kW (17 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 17 N”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the D 130 and the D 17 N.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the D 130 and the D 17 N.
Which pumps more oil for implements?No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the D 130 and the D 17 N.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?690 kg (1,521 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 130”690 kg (1,521 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 17 N”EvenNo call on three-point lift: the sources do not state where the lift was measured, so the difference is not a reliable call.
Which is heavier, for traction?1,190 kg (2,624 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 130”1,230 kg (2,712 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 17 N”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?1,700 kg (3,748 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 130”1,900 kg (4,189 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 17 N”AheadThe Fahr D 17 N has 12% higher maximum permissible mass (200 kg / 441 lb) than the Fahr D 130 (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
Which has the wider choice of gears?5 to 6Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 130”5Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 17 N”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the D 130 and the D 17 N.
Which is faster on the road?18.8 km/h (11.7 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 130”18.2 km/h (11.3 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 17 N”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?588 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 130”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 17 N”No figureNo call on PTO speeds: no standard PTO speed stated for the D 130.
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the D 130 and the D 17 N.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 130”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Fahr D 17 N”EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1954–19571953–1955EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Fahr D 17 N has 12% higher maximum permissible mass (200 kg / 441 lb) than the Fahr D 130 (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • No call on three-point lift: the sources do not state where the lift was measured, so the difference is not a reliable call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, a creeper range, PTO speeds and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources