Deutz (KHD) D 50.1 S or J.I. Case 401?
Which should you choose?
On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the Deutz D 50.1 S is ahead on top speed.
- The Deutz D 50.1 S suits road haulage better on this data: 50% (10.0 km/h / 6.2 mph) more top speed.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | D 50.1 S | 401 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 36.5 kW (48.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Deutz D 50 S (D 55)” | 36.8 kW (49.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 401” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the D 50.1 S and the 401. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the D 50.1 S and the 401. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | 45.4 L/min (12.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 401” | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the D 50.1 S. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 1,650 kg (3,638 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Deutz D 50 S (D 55)” | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 401. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,230 kg (4,916 lb) to 2,450 kg (5,401 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Deutz D 50 S (D 55)” | 2,986 kg (6,583 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 401” | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The J.I. Case 401 is 22% heavier (536 kg / 1,182 lb) than the Deutz D 50.1 S (both unladen weight, as stated by the source). |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 3,900 kg (8,598 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Deutz D 50 S (D 55)” | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 401. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 8Traktorenlexikon, “Deutz D 50 S (D 55)” | 8Traktorenlexikon, “Case 401” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | YesTraktorenlexikon, “Deutz D 50 S (D 55)” | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 401. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Deutz D 50 S (D 55)” | 20 km/h (12.4 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 401” | AheadThe Deutz D 50.1 S has 50% more top speed (10.0 km/h / 6.2 mph) than the J.I. Case 401 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1060 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Deutz D 50 S (D 55)” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 401” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Deutz D 50 S (D 55)” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 401. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Deutz D 50 S (D 55)” | 2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 401” | EvenEven on drive: all two-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1962–1964 | 1955–1957 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Deutz D 50.1 S is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The J.I. Case 401 is 22% heavier (536 kg / 1,182 lb) than the Deutz D 50.1 S (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
- The Deutz D 50.1 S has 50% more top speed (10.0 km/h / 6.2 mph) than the J.I. Case 401 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
- The Deutz D 50.1 S is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
- Even on drive: all two-wheel drive.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources