David Brown 995 or David Brown 996 (A)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the David Brown 996 (A) is ahead on drive.

  • The David Brown 996 (A) suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for David Brown 995 and David Brown 996 (A), with the call on each
Question995996 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?38.7 kW (51.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 995”38.7 kW (51.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 996”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 995 and the 996 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 995 and the 996 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?28.2 L/min (7.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 995”28.2 L/min (7.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 996”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 995 and the 996 (A).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,610 kg (5,754 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 995”2,610 kg (5,754 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 996”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 995 and the 996 (A).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 995”12Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 996”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 995 and the 996 (A).
Which is faster on the road?25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 995”25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 996”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 995”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 996”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 996”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 995.
Which drives on both axles?2WDTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 995”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 996”AheadThe David Brown 996 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the David Brown 995 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1971–19761971–1976EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The David Brown 996 (A) is available with four-wheel drive; the David Brown 995 is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources