David Brown 1694 or John Deere 6410?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 1694: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1694”); the 6410: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1806) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- The John Deere 6410 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 78% (2,641 kg / 5,823 lb) more three-point lift.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 1694 | 6410 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 73.8 kW (99.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1694” | 73.1 kW (98.0 hp)OECD Test 1806 | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1694: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1694”); the 6410: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1806) — not the same quantity, basis and condition. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1694 and the 6410. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | 59.4 kW (79.7 hp)OECD Test 1806 | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1694. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1694 and the 6410. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 3,375 kg (7,441 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1694” | 6,016 kg (13,264 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410” | AheadThe John Deere 6410 has 78% more lift (2,641 kg / 5,823 lb) than the David Brown 1694 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source). |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 4,345 kg (9,579 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1694” | 4,100 kg (9,039 lb) to 4,390 kg (9,678 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | 8,000 kg (17,637 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410” | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1694. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 12Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1694” | 24OECD test report 1842, 1999 | Sources disagreeNo call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 6410. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1694 and the 6410. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1694” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1694” | 540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1694 and the 6410. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1694” | 4WDOECD test report 1806, 1999; OECD test report 1842, 1999; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6410” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1984–1988 | 1997–2003 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 6410 is newer: production began 13 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The John Deere 6410 has 78% more lift (2,641 kg / 5,823 lb) than the David Brown 1694 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
- The John Deere 6410 is newer: production began 13 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1694: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1694”); the 6410: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1806) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- No call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 6410.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources