David Brown 1594 (A) or VALMET 6400-4?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 1594 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6400-4 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for David Brown 1594 (A) and VALMET 6400-4, with the call on each
Question1594 (A)6400-4Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?69.9 kW (93.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1594”69.9 kW (93.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1594 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6400-4 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1594 (A) and the 6400-4.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1594 (A) and the 6400-4.
Which pumps more oil for implements?68.2 L/min (18.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1594 (A).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?3,375 kg (7,441 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1594”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 6400-4.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,915 kg (8,631 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1594”4,200 kg (9,259 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?7,500 kg (16,535 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1594 (A).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1594”12 to 36Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1594 (A) and the 6400-4.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1594”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1594”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1594”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 6400-4.
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1594”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Valmet 6400”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1984–19881991–2007Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The VALMET 6400-4 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The VALMET 6400-4 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 1594 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6400-4 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources