David Brown 1494 (A) or Massey Ferguson MF 365 (A)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level. On features, the David Brown 1494 (A) is ahead on PTO speeds.

  • The David Brown 1494 (A) suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: offers 1000 rpm.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for David Brown 1494 (A) and Massey Ferguson MF 365 (A), with the call on each
Question1494 (A)MF 365 (A)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?41.1 kW (55.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1494”40.9 kW (54.8 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 365”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1494 (A) and the MF 365 (A).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1494 (A) and the MF 365 (A).
Which pumps more oil for implements?No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 1494 (A) and the MF 365 (A).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,732 kg (6,023 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1494”2,891 kg (6,373 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 365”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?3,347 kg (7,379 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1494”2,591 kg (5,712 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 365”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The David Brown 1494 (A) is 29% heavier (756 kg / 1,667 lb) than the Massey Ferguson MF 365 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1494 (A) and the MF 365 (A).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1494”12Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 365”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1494 (A) and the MF 365 (A).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1494”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 365”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1494”540/540E rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 365”AheadThe David Brown 1494 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Massey Ferguson MF 365 (A) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 365”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1494 (A).
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1494”2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Massey Ferguson MF 365”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1984–19881988–1997EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The David Brown 1494 (A) is 29% heavier (756 kg / 1,667 lb) than the Massey Ferguson MF 365 (A) (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The David Brown 1494 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the Massey Ferguson MF 365 (A) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources