David Brown 1294 (A) or J.I. Case 1294 (DT)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for David Brown 1294 (A) and J.I. Case 1294 (DT), with the call on each
Question1294 (A)1294 (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?41.2 kW (55.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1294”41.2 kW (55.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1294 (A) and the 1294 (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1294 (A) and the 1294 (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?26.8 L/min (7.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1294”27.3 L/min (7.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?1,347 kg (2,970 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1294”1,345 kg (2,965 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift through the full range 610 mm behind the ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?2,865 kg (6,316 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1294”2,865 kg (6,316 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1294 (A) and the 1294 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1294”12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1294 (A) and the 1294 (DT).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1294”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1294”540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1294 (A) and the 1294 (DT).
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1294”Two-wheel or four-wheel driveTraktorenlexikon, “Case 1294”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1984–19851984–1985EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift through the full range 610 mm behind the ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources