David Brown 1210 (A) or International Harvester 624 (A)?
Which should you choose?
On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the David Brown 1210 (A): three-point lift.
- The David Brown 1210 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 17% (296 kg / 653 lb) more three-point lift.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | 1210 (A) | 624 (A) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 41.0 kW (55.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1210” | 41.2 kW (55.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick 624 (A)” | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 1210 (A) and the 624 (A). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 1210 (A) and the 624 (A). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 28.2 L/min (7.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1210” | 28.3 L/min (7.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick 624 (A)” | EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 1,996 kg (4,400 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1210” | 1,700 kg (3,748 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick 624 (A)” | AheadThe David Brown 1210 (A) has 17% more lift (296 kg / 653 lb) than the International Harvester 624 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source). |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,630 kg (5,798 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1210” | 2,529 kg (5,575 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick 624 (A)” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | — | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 1210 (A) and the 624 (A). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 12Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1210” | 8 to 12Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick 624 (A)” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 1210 (A) and the 624 (A). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1210” | 20 km/h (12.4 mph) to 25 km/h (15.5 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “McCormick 624 (A)” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1210” | 540 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “McCormick 624 (A)” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | independentTraktorenlexikon, “McCormick 624 (A)” | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 1210 (A). |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “David Brown 1210” | 2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “McCormick 624 (A)” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1971–1976 | 1965–1972 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The David Brown 1210 (A) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The David Brown 1210 (A) has 17% more lift (296 kg / 653 lb) than the International Harvester 624 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
- The David Brown 1210 (A) is newer: production began 6 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
- Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources