Case-Steyr 9125 a or John Deere 6620?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 9125 a has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6620 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-Steyr 9125 a and John Deere 6620, with the call on each
Question9125 a6620Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?92 kW (123 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 9125”92 kW (123 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 9125 a has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6620 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 9125 a and the 6620.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 9125 a and the 6620.
Which pumps more oil for implements?80.0 L/min (21.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 9125”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 6620.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?7,200 kg (15,873 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 9125”7,600 kg (16,755 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?5,265 kg (11,607 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 9125”5,915 kg (13,040 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 6620 is 12% heavier (650 kg / 1,433 lb) than the Case-Steyr 9125 a (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?9,000 kg (19,842 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 9125”9,500 kg (20,944 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?20 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 9125”24 to 36Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 9125 a and the 6620.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Steyr 9125”40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540 rpm / 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr 9125”540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr 9125”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Steyr 9125”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”; OECD test report 2038, 2003EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1995–20032002–2007Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 6620 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 6620 is 12% heavier (650 kg / 1,433 lb) than the Case-Steyr 9125 a (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 6620 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 9125 a has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6620 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources