Case-IH Puma 125 or John Deere 6620?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Puma 125 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6620 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere 6620 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 59% (2,818 kg / 6,213 lb) more three-point lift.
  • The Case-IH Puma 125 suits road haulage better on this data: 11% (1,000 kg / 2,205 lb) more maximum permissible mass.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH Puma 125 and John Deere 6620, with the call on each
QuestionPuma 1256620Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?93.4 kW (125.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 125”92 kW (123 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Puma 125 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6620 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Puma 125 and the 6620.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Puma 125 and the 6620.
Which pumps more oil for implements?104.9 L/min (27.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 125”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 6620.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?4,782 kg (10,543 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 125”7,600 kg (16,755 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”AheadThe John Deere 6620 has 59% more lift (2,818 kg / 6,213 lb) than the Case-IH Puma 125 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?6,015 kg (13,261 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 125”5,915 kg (13,040 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?10,500 kg (23,149 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 125”9,500 kg (20,944 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”AheadThe Case-IH Puma 125 has 11% higher maximum permissible mass (1,000 kg / 2,205 lb) than the John Deere 6620 (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
Which has the wider choice of gears?18 to 19Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 125”24 to 36Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”AheadThe John Deere 6620 has 26% more forward gears (5 gears) than the Case-IH Puma 125 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Puma 125 and the 6620.
Which is faster on the road?40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 125”40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmOECD test report 2470, 2009540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 125”independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH Puma 125”; OECD test report 2470, 20094WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 6620”; OECD test report 2038, 2003EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?2007–20102002–2007Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH Puma 125 is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 6620 has 59% more lift (2,818 kg / 6,213 lb) than the Case-IH Puma 125 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The Case-IH Puma 125 has 11% higher maximum permissible mass (1,000 kg / 2,205 lb) than the John Deere 6620 (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
  • The John Deere 6620 has 26% more forward gears (5 gears) than the Case-IH Puma 125 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • The Case-IH Puma 125 is newer: production began 5 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Puma 125 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 6620 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources