Case-IH MXU 125 or John Deere 7510?
Which should you choose?
On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the John Deere 7510: power at the PTO shaft, drawbar power and hydraulic flow.
- The John Deere 7510 suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: 8% (6.4 kW / 8.6 hp) more power at the PTO shaft.
- The John Deere 7510 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 23% (18.6 L/min / 4.9 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
- The John Deere 7510 suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: 10% (7.3 kW / 9.8 hp) more drawbar power.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | MXU 125 | 7510 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 79.4 kW (106.5 hp)OECD Test 2231Measured PTO power is 6% below the claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) (91.9 kW (123.2 hp)) — a different quantity: the gap is what the engine claim does not reach the shaft. | 85.8 kW (115.1 hp)OECD Test 1959 | AheadThe John Deere 7510 has 8% more power at the PTO (6.4 kW / 8.6 hp) than the Case-IH MXU 125 (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at rated engine speed). |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the MXU 125 and the 7510. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | 71.8 kW (96.3 hp)OECD Test 2231 | 79.1 kW (106.1 hp)OECD Test 1959 | AheadThe John Deere 7510 has 10% more drawbar power (7.3 kW / 9.8 hp) than the Case-IH MXU 125 (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 82.5 L/min (21.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXU125” | 101.1 L/min (26.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7510” | AheadThe John Deere 7510 has 23% more hydraulic flow (18.6 L/min / 4.9 gpm) than the Case-IH MXU 125 (both pump flow, as stated by the source). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 6,006 kg (13,241 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXU125” | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 7510. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 5,473 kg (12,066 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXU125” | 5,864 kg (12,928 lb) to 6,028 kg (13,289 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7510” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 7,500 kg (16,535 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXU125” | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 7510. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 16 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXU125” | 16OECD test report 1959, 2001 | Sources disagreeNo call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the MXU 125. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the MXU 125 and the 7510. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXU125” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7510” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXU125” | 540/1000 rpmOECD test report 1959, 2001 | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXU125” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 7510. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDOECD test report 2231, 2005; OECD test report 2259, 2005; Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXU125” | 4WDOECD test report 1959, 2001; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7510” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 2003–2006 | 1999–2002 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The John Deere 7510 has 8% more power at the PTO (6.4 kW / 8.6 hp) than the Case-IH MXU 125 (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at rated engine speed).
- The John Deere 7510 has 10% more drawbar power (7.3 kW / 9.8 hp) than the Case-IH MXU 125 (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power).
- The John Deere 7510 has 23% more hydraulic flow (18.6 L/min / 4.9 gpm) than the Case-IH MXU 125 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- No call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the MXU 125.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources