Case-IH MX 240 or J.I. Case 4894?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the MX 240: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1835); the 4894: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.

  • The Case-IH MX 240 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 30% (26.9 L/min / 7.1 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
  • The Case-IH MX 240 suits road haulage better on this data: 33% (10.0 km/h / 6.2 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH MX 240 and J.I. Case 4894, with the call on each
QuestionMX 2404894Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?175.4 kW (235.2 hp)OECD Test 1835Measured PTO power is 3% below the claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) (180.9 kW (242.6 hp)) — a different quantity: the gap is what the engine claim does not reach the shaft.188.7 kW (253.1 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the MX 240: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1835); the 4894: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the MX 240 and the 4894.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?149.6 kW (200.6 hp)OECD Test 1835No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 4894.
Which pumps more oil for implements?117.7 L/min (31.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”90.8 L/min (24.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”AheadThe Case-IH MX 240 has 30% more hydraulic flow (26.9 L/min / 7.1 gpm) than the J.I. Case 4894 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?8,485 kg (18,706 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”5,780 kg (12,743 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the MX 240: lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”); the 4894: lift through the full range 610 mm behind the ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which is heavier, for traction?9,414 kg (20,754 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”11,680 kg (25,750 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The J.I. Case 4894 is 24% heavier (2,266 kg / 4,996 lb) than the Case-IH MX 240 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 4894.
Which has the wider choice of gears?18 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”AheadThe Case-IH MX 240 has 50% more forward gears (6 gears) than the J.I. Case 4894 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the MX 240 and the 4894.
Which is faster on the road?40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”AheadThe Case-IH MX 240 has 33% more top speed (10.0 km/h / 6.2 mph) than the J.I. Case 4894 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”AheadThe Case-IH MX 240 offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the J.I. Case 4894 does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?4WDOECD test report 1835, 1999; Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1999–20021984–1985Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH MX 240 is newer: production began 15 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Case-IH MX 240 has 30% more hydraulic flow (26.9 L/min / 7.1 gpm) than the J.I. Case 4894 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
  • The J.I. Case 4894 is 24% heavier (2,266 kg / 4,996 lb) than the Case-IH MX 240 (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Case-IH MX 240 has 50% more forward gears (6 gears) than the J.I. Case 4894 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • The Case-IH MX 240 has 33% more top speed (10.0 km/h / 6.2 mph) than the J.I. Case 4894 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The Case-IH MX 240 offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the J.I. Case 4894 does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The Case-IH MX 240 is newer: production began 15 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the MX 240: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1835); the 4894: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • Not comparable on three-point lift: the MX 240: lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX240”); the 4894: lift through the full range 610 mm behind the ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4894”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources