Case-IH MX 220 or John Deere 8130?
Which should you choose?
On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | MX 220 | 8130 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 156.0 kW (209.2 hp)OECD Test 1892Measured 10% above its own claimed PTO figure (141.9 kW (190.3 hp), Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220”). | 155.3 kW (208.3 hp)OECD Test 2376 | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 5% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the MX 220 and the 8130. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | 134.8 kW (180.8 hp)OECD Test 1892 | 137.6 kW (184.5 hp)OECD Test 2376 | EvenEven on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 117.7 L/min (31.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 8130. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | — | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the MX 220 and the 8130. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 9,083 kg (20,025 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | 9,670 kg (21,319 lb) to 10,572 kg (23,307 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8130” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | 14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8130” | EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 18 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | 16OECD test report 2376, 2007 | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the MX 220 and the 8130. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | 40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8130” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | 540/1000 rpmOECD test report 2376, 2007 | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 8130. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDOECD test report 1892, 2000; Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | 4WDOECD test report 2376, 2007; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8130” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1999–2002 | 2006–2009 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 8130 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The John Deere 8130 is newer: production began 7 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 5% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 25% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources