Case-IH MX 200 or Case-IH MX 220?
Which should you choose?
On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Case-IH MX 220: power at the PTO shaft.
- The Case-IH MX 220 suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: 8% (12.0 kW / 16.1 hp) more power at the PTO shaft.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | MX 200 | MX 220 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 144.0 kW (193.1 hp)OECD Test 1891Measured PTO power is 4% below the claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) (150 kW (201 hp)) — a different quantity: the gap is what the engine claim does not reach the shaft. | 156.0 kW (209.2 hp)OECD Test 1892Measured PTO power is 5% below the claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) (164.8 kW (221.0 hp)) — a different quantity: the gap is what the engine claim does not reach the shaft. | AheadThe Case-IH MX 220 has 8% more power at the PTO (12.0 kW / 16.1 hp) than the Case-IH MX 200 (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power). |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the MX 200 and the MX 220. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | 122.9 kW (164.8 hp)OECD Test 1891 | 134.8 kW (180.8 hp)OECD Test 1892 | EvenEven on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 118.1 L/min (31.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX200” | 117.7 L/min (31.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 7,455 kg (16,435 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX200” | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the MX 220. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 8,924 kg (19,674 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX200” | 9,083 kg (20,025 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX200” | 14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 18 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX200” | 18 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the MX 200 and the MX 220. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX200” | 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX200” | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the MX 200. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDOECD test report 1891, 2000; Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX200” | 4WDOECD test report 1892, 2000; Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX220” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1999–2002 | 1999–2002 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Case-IH MX 220 has 8% more power at the PTO (12.0 kW / 16.1 hp) than the Case-IH MX 200 (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power).
- Even on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, three-point lift, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources