Case-IH MX 180 or J.I. Case 4494?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the MX 180: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1890); the 4494: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- The Case-IH MX 180 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 103% (60.5 L/min / 16.0 gpm) more hydraulic flow.
- The Case-IH MX 180 suits road haulage better on this data: 33% (10.0 km/h / 6.2 mph) more top speed.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | MX 180 | 4494 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 131.0 kW (175.7 hp)OECD Test 1890Measured PTO power is 2% below the claimed engine power (gross or net not stated) (133.9 kW (179.6 hp)) — a different quantity: the gap is what the engine claim does not reach the shaft. | 130.5 kW (175.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the MX 180: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1890); the 4494: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the MX 180 and the 4494. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | 112.6 kW (151.0 hp)OECD Test 1890 | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 4494. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 119.2 L/min (31.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180” | 58.7 L/min (15.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494” | AheadThe Case-IH MX 180 has 103% more hydraulic flow (60.5 L/min / 16.0 gpm) than the J.I. Case 4494 (both pump flow, as stated by the source). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 7,455 kg (16,435 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180” | 5,780 kg (12,743 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494” | Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the MX 180: lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180”); the 4494: lift through the full range 610 mm behind the ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 8,725 kg (19,235 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180” | 9,453 kg (20,840 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 12,500 kg (27,558 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180” | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 4494. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 18 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180” | 12Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494” | AheadThe Case-IH MX 180 has 50% more forward gears (6 gears) than the J.I. Case 4494 (both forward gears, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the MX 180 and the 4494. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494” | AheadThe Case-IH MX 180 has 33% more top speed (10.0 km/h / 6.2 mph) than the J.I. Case 4494 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source). |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180” | 1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 4494” | AheadThe Case-IH MX 180 offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the J.I. Case 4494 does not (as stated by the sources). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180” | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case 4494” | EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDOECD test report 1890, 2000; Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180” | 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 4494” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1999–2002 | 1984–1985 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH MX 180 is newer: production began 15 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Case-IH MX 180 has 103% more hydraulic flow (60.5 L/min / 16.0 gpm) than the J.I. Case 4494 (both pump flow, as stated by the source).
- The Case-IH MX 180 has 50% more forward gears (6 gears) than the J.I. Case 4494 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
- The Case-IH MX 180 has 33% more top speed (10.0 km/h / 6.2 mph) than the J.I. Case 4494 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
- The Case-IH MX 180 offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the J.I. Case 4494 does not (as stated by the sources).
- The Case-IH MX 180 is newer: production began 15 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the MX 180: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1890); the 4494: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- Not comparable on three-point lift: the MX 180: lift through the full range at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX180”); the 4494: lift through the full range 610 mm behind the ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case 4494”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources