Case-IH MX 170 or John Deere 7710?
Which should you choose?
On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | MX 170 | 7710 | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 116.4 kW (156.1 hp)OECD Test 1764Measured 7% above its own claimed PTO figure (109.0 kW (146.2 hp), Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX170”). | 112.9 kW (151.4 hp)OECD Test 1709 | EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 5% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the MX 170 and the 7710. |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | 111.9 kW (150.1 hp)OECD Test 1764 | 102.5 kW (137.5 hp)OECD Test 1709 | EvenEven on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | — | 101.4 L/min (26.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710” | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the MX 170. |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 6,893 kg (15,196 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX170” | — | No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 7710. |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 7,370 kg (16,248 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX170” | 6,023 kg (13,278 lb) to 7,007 kg (15,448 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 12,500 kg (27,558 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX170” | 11,500 kg (25,353 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710” | EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 16 to 32Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX170” | 16OECD test report 1709, 1997 | Sources disagreeNo call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 7710. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the MX 170 and the 7710. |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX170” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX170” | 540/1000 rpmOECD test report 1709, 1997 | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX170” | — | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 7710. |
| Which drives on both axles? | 4WDOECD test report 1764, 1998; OECD test report 1765, 1998; Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX170” | 4WDOECD test report 1709, 1997; OECD test report 1710, 1997; OECD test report 1960, 2001; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1998–2002 | 1997–2003 | EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 5% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- No call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 7710.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, hydraulic flow, three-point lift, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources