Case-IH MX 120 or John Deere 7410?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “similar machines”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH MX 120 and John Deere 7410, with the call on each
QuestionMX 1207410Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?81.7 kW (109.6 hp)OECD Test 1678Measured 3% above its own claimed PTO figure (79.2 kW (106.2 hp), Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX120”).81.6 kW (109.4 hp)OECD Test 1750EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 5% threshold, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the MX 120 and the 7410.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?71.3 kW (95.6 hp)OECD Test 167873.2 kW (98.2 hp)OECD Test 1750EvenEven on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which pumps more oil for implements?109 L/min (28.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX120”101.8 L/min (26.9 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7410”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?5,226 kg (11,521 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX120”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 7410.
Which is heavier, for traction?6,265 kg (13,812 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX120”5,212 kg (11,490 lb) to 5,778 kg (12,738 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7410”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?9,000 kg (19,842 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX120”No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 7410.
Which has the wider choice of gears?16 to 32Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX120”12OECD test report 1750, 1998Sources disagreeNo call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 7410.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the MX 120 and the 7410.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX120”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7410”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX120”540/1000 rpmOECD test report 1751, 1998EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the MX 120 and the 7410.
Which drives on both axles?4WDOECD test report 1678, 1997; Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MX120”4WDOECD test report 1750, 1998; OECD test report 1751, 1998; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7410”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1997–20021997–2002EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 5% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on drawbar power (both drawbar power, measured by a laboratory at maximum power): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 7410.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, three-point lift, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources