Case-IH Magnum 7220 or Case-IH MXM 175 Maxxum?

Which should you choose?

On performance, no comparable figure differs by more than its threshold: on this data the machines are level.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH Magnum 7220 and Case-IH MXM 175 Maxxum, with the call on each
QuestionMagnum 7220MXM 175 MaxxumCall
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?116.3 kW (156.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220”115.0 kW (154.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM175”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Magnum 7220 and the MXM 175 Maxxum.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Magnum 7220 and the MXM 175 Maxxum.
Which pumps more oil for implements?115.1 L/min (30.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220”105.0 L/min (27.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM175”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?6,995 kg (15,421 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM175”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the Magnum 7220.
Which is heavier, for traction?8,560 kg (18,872 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220”7,165 kg (15,796 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM175”Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH Magnum 7220 is 19% heavier (1,395 kg / 3,075 lb) than the Case-IH MXM 175 Maxxum (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
Which may carry more ballast and load?11,575 kg (25,519 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220”12,000 kg (26,455 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM175”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220”18 to 28Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM175”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?YesTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220”No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the MXM 175 Maxxum.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220”40 km/h (24.9 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM175”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220”540E/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM175”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM175”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the Magnum 7220.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH MXM175”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1994–19972002–2007Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH MXM 175 Maxxum is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Case-IH Magnum 7220 is 19% heavier (1,395 kg / 3,075 lb) than the Case-IH MXM 175 Maxxum (both unladen weight, as stated by the source).
  • The Case-IH MXM 175 Maxxum is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources