Case-IH Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 or J.I. Case 2594 (DT)?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2594 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The Case-IH Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 suits heavy draft work (ploughing, cultivating) better on this data: four-wheel drive.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 and J.I. Case 2594 (DT), with the call on each
QuestionMagnum 7220 PRO/89202594 (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?139.7 kW (187.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”139.7 kW (187.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2594”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2594 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 and the 2594 (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 and the 2594 (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?110.5 L/min (29.2 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 2594 (DT).
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?5,782 kg (12,747 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”6,100 kg (13,448 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2594”EvenEven on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which is heavier, for traction?7,901 kg (17,419 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”7,430 kg (16,380 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2594”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?11,500 kg (25,353 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”—No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 2594 (DT).
Which has the wider choice of gears?24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”12 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2594”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?YesTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”—No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 2594 (DT).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case 2594”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case 2594”AheadThe Case-IH Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the J.I. Case 2594 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case 2594”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7220 PRO/8920”2WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case 2594”AheadThe Case-IH Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 is available with four-wheel drive; the J.I. Case 2594 (DT) is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
Which is newer, and what about parts?1997–19991984–1985Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 is newer: production began 13 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Case-IH Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 offers 540 rpm at the PTO, which the J.I. Case 2594 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • The Case-IH Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 is available with four-wheel drive; the J.I. Case 2594 (DT) is two-wheel drive (as stated by the sources).
  • The Case-IH Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 is newer: production began 13 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on three-point lift (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Magnum 7220 PRO/8920 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 2594 (DT) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources