Case-IH Magnum 7120 or SAME Rubin 180?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Magnum 7120 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Rubin 180 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The SAME Rubin 180 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 50% (3,350 kg / 7,385 lb) more three-point lift.
  • The SAME Rubin 180 suits road haulage better on this data: 25% (8.0 km/h / 5.0 mph) more top speed.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH Magnum 7120 and SAME Rubin 180, with the call on each
QuestionMagnum 7120Rubin 180Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?132.4 kW (177.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”132.4 kW (177.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 180”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Magnum 7120 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Rubin 180 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Magnum 7120 and the Rubin 180.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Magnum 7120 and the Rubin 180.
Which pumps more oil for implements?108.0 L/min (28.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the Rubin 180.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?6,650 kg (14,661 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”10,000 kg (22,046 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 180”AheadThe SAME Rubin 180 has 50% more lift (3,350 kg / 7,385 lb) than the Case-IH Magnum 7120 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?7,532 kg (16,605 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”7,100 kg (15,653 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 180”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?11,575 kg (25,519 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”—No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the Rubin 180.
Which has the wider choice of gears?18 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”18 to 27Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 180”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?——No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Magnum 7120 and the Rubin 180.
Which is faster on the road?32 km/h (19.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 180”AheadThe SAME Rubin 180 has 25% more top speed (8.0 km/h / 5.0 mph) than the Case-IH Magnum 7120 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 180”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”independentTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 180”EvenEven on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Rubin 180”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1988–19932000–2004Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The SAME Rubin 180 is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SAME Rubin 180 has 50% more lift (3,350 kg / 7,385 lb) than the Case-IH Magnum 7120 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The SAME Rubin 180 has 25% more top speed (8.0 km/h / 5.0 mph) than the Case-IH Magnum 7120 (both top speed forward, as stated by the source).
  • The SAME Rubin 180 is newer: production began 12 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on PTO independence: every PTO is independent.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Magnum 7120 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the Rubin 180 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass and a creeper range.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources