Case-IH Magnum 7120 or John Deere 7710?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the Magnum 7120: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”); the 7710: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1709) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH Magnum 7120 and John Deere 7710, with the call on each
QuestionMagnum 71207710Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?113.1 kW (151.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”112.9 kW (151.4 hp)OECD Test 1709Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Magnum 7120: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”); the 7710: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1709) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the Magnum 7120 and the 7710.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?102.5 kW (137.5 hp)OECD Test 1709No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the Magnum 7120.
Which pumps more oil for implements?108.0 L/min (28.5 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”101.4 L/min (26.8 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?6,650 kg (14,661 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”No figureNo call on three-point lift: no figure on record for the 7710.
Which is heavier, for traction?7,532 kg (16,605 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”6,023 kg (13,278 lb) to 7,007 kg (15,448 lb), varies by configurationTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?11,575 kg (25,519 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”11,500 kg (25,353 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?18 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”16OECD test report 1709, 1997Sources disagreeNo call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 7710.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the Magnum 7120 and the 7710.
Which is faster on the road?32 km/h (19.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 50 km/h (31.1 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”540/1000 rpmOECD test report 1709, 1997EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 7710.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”4WDOECD test report 1709, 1997; OECD test report 1710, 1997; OECD test report 1960, 2001; Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 7710”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1988–19931997–2003Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The John Deere 7710 is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 7710 is newer: production began 9 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the Magnum 7120: power at the PTO, claimed (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7120”); the 7710: power at the PTO, measured by a laboratory at maximum power (OECD Test 1709) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No call on forward gears: sources disagree on the figure for the 7710.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, three-point lift, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources