Case-IH CS-58 (A) or Case-IH JX 60 (A)?
Which should you choose?
The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the CS-58 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the JX 60 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- The Case-IH JX 60 (A) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 32% (717 kg / 1,581 lb) more three-point lift.
Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.
What decides it, question by question?
| Question | CS-58 (A) | JX 60 (A) | Call |
|---|---|---|---|
| Which puts more power through the PTO shaft? | 42.7 kW (57.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS58/a” | 43.4 kW (58.2 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH JX60” | Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the CS-58 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the JX 60 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft. |
| Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft? | — | — | No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the CS-58 (A) and the JX 60 (A). |
| Which pulls harder at the drawbar? | — | — | No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the CS-58 (A) and the JX 60 (A). |
| Which pumps more oil for implements? | 30.8 L/min (8.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS58/a” | — | No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the JX 60 (A). |
| Which lifts more on the three-point hitch? | 2,220 kg (4,894 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS58/a” | 2,937 kg (6,475 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH JX60” | AheadThe Case-IH JX 60 (A) has 32% more lift (717 kg / 1,581 lb) than the Case-IH CS-58 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source). |
| Which is heavier, for traction? | 2,360 kg (5,203 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS58/a” | 2,590 kg (5,710 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH JX60” | EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call. |
| Which may carry more ballast and load? | 4,200 kg (9,259 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS58/a” | — | No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the JX 60 (A). |
| Which has the wider choice of gears? | 16Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS58/a” | 12 to 20Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH JX60” | EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers a creeper range? | — | — | No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the CS-58 (A) and the JX 60 (A). |
| Which is faster on the road? | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS58/a” | 30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH JX60” | EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap. |
| Which offers more PTO speeds? | 540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS58/a” | 540E/540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH JX60” | EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm). |
| Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive? | — | independentTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH JX60” | No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the CS-58 (A). |
| Which drives on both axles? | 2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH CS58/a”; OECD test report 1772, 1998 | 2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH JX60” | EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive. |
| Which is newer, and what about parts? | 1996–2001 | 2004–2008 | Ahead (a fact, not an advantage)The Case-IH JX 60 (A) is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts. |
What does this mean in plain words?
- The Case-IH JX 60 (A) has 32% more lift (717 kg / 1,581 lb) than the Case-IH CS-58 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
- The Case-IH JX 60 (A) is newer: production began 8 years later. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
- Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
- Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
- Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (540, 1000 rpm).
- Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
- Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the CS-58 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the JX 60 (A) has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
- No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.
← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources