Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950 or John Deere 8400?

Which should you choose?

The data can’t decide this. Power at the PTO shaft cannot be compared: the 7250 PRO/8950 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 8400 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.

  • The John Deere 8400 suits road haulage better on this data: 21% (2,425 kg / 5,346 lb) more maximum permissible mass.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950 and John Deere 8400, with the call on each
Question7250 PRO/89508400Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?192 kW (257 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”191.4 kW (256.7 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”Not comparableNot comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 7250 PRO/8950 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 8400 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?——No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 7250 PRO/8950 and the 8400.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?——No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 7250 PRO/8950 and the 8400.
Which pumps more oil for implements?112.4 L/min (29.7 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”—No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 8400.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?7,350 kg (16,204 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”4,900 kg (10,803 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”Not comparableNot comparable on three-point lift: the 7250 PRO/8950: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”); the 8400: lift through the full range at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
Which is heavier, for traction?8,318 kg (18,338 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”8,705 kg (19,191 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?11,575 kg (25,519 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”14,000 kg (30,865 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”AheadThe John Deere 8400 has 21% higher maximum permissible mass (2,425 kg / 5,346 lb) than the Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950 (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
Which has the wider choice of gears?24Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”16Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”AheadThe Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950 has 50% more forward gears (8 gears) than the John Deere 8400 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
Which offers a creeper range?YesTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”—No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 8400.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”38 km/h (23.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?—independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 7250 PRO/8950.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1997–19991994–1998EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The John Deere 8400 has 21% higher maximum permissible mass (2,425 kg / 5,346 lb) than the Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950 (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source).
  • The Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950 has 50% more forward gears (8 gears) than the John Deere 8400 (both forward gears, as stated by the source).
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • Not comparable on power at the PTO shaft: the 7250 PRO/8950 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft; the 8400 has only engine power (gross or net not stated), claimed — a different quantity from power at the shaft.
  • Not comparable on three-point lift: the 7250 PRO/8950: lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 7250 PRO/8950”); the 8400: lift through the full range at an unstated point, as stated by the source (Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8400”) — not the same quantity, basis and condition.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources