Case-IH C-55 (A) or SAME Argon 60 (DT)?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the SAME Argon 60 (DT): three-point lift. On features, the Case-IH C-55 (A) is ahead on PTO speeds.

  • The Case-IH C-55 (A) suits PTO-driven implements (mowers, balers, pumps) better on this data: offers 1000 rpm.
  • The SAME Argon 60 (DT) suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 25% (580 kg / 1,279 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH C-55 (A) and SAME Argon 60 (DT), with the call on each
QuestionC-55 (A)Argon 60 (DT)Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?37.3 kW (50.0 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH C55”37.2 kW (49.9 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Argon 60”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the C-55 (A) and the Argon 60 (DT).
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the C-55 (A) and the Argon 60 (DT).
Which pumps more oil for implements?45.8 L/min (12.1 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH C55”47.0 L/min (12.4 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Argon 60”EvenEven on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?2,320 kg (5,115 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH C55”2,900 kg (6,393 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Argon 60”AheadThe SAME Argon 60 (DT) has 25% more lift (580 kg / 1,279 lb) than the Case-IH C-55 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?2,745 kg (6,052 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH C55”2,500 kg (5,512 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Argon 60”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?4,500 kg (9,921 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH C55”4,600 kg (10,141 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Argon 60”EvenEven on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which has the wider choice of gears?16Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH C55”16 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Argon 60”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?YesTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Argon 60”No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the C-55 (A).
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH C55”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “SAME Argon 60”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?540/1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH C55”540/540E rpmTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Argon 60”AheadThe Case-IH C-55 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the SAME Argon 60 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the C-55 (A) and the Argon 60 (DT).
Which drives on both axles?2WD / 4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH C55”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “SAME Argon 60”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1995–19971993–2004EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The SAME Argon 60 (DT) has 25% more lift (580 kg / 1,279 lb) than the Case-IH C-55 (A) (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • The Case-IH C-55 (A) offers 1000 rpm at the PTO, which the SAME Argon 60 (DT) does not (as stated by the sources).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on hydraulic flow (both pump flow, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on maximum permissible mass (both maximum permissible mass, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources