Case-IH 9180 or John Deere 8960?

Which should you choose?

On performance, every comparable figure that differs favours the Case-IH 9180: three-point lift.

  • The Case-IH 9180 suits loader and hydraulic implement work better on this data: 106% (5,839 kg / 12,873 lb) more three-point lift.

Generated by rule set compare@4 from the figures on the side-by-side table, allowed by route “the same stated configuration”. Measured figures are compared only with measured, claimed only with claimed, at the same test condition; differences within each figure’s tolerance are not called.

What decides it, question by question?

Buyer questions for Case-IH 9180 and John Deere 8960, with the call on each
Question91808960Call
Which puts more power through the PTO shaft?257.0 kW (344.6 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 9180”247.8 kW (332.3 hp)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8960”EvenEven on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
Which turns a litre of fuel into more work at the shaft?No figureNo call on fuel efficiency at the shaft: no figure on record for the 9180 and the 8960.
Which pulls harder at the drawbar?No figureNo call on drawbar power: no figure on record for the 9180 and the 8960.
Which pumps more oil for implements?117.3 L/min (31.0 gpm)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 9180”No figureNo call on hydraulic flow: no figure on record for the 8960.
Which lifts more on the three-point hitch?11,339 kg (24,998 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 9180”5,350 kg (11,795 lb) to 5,500 kg (12,125 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8960”AheadThe Case-IH 9180 has 106% more lift (5,839 kg / 12,873 lb) than the John Deere 8960 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
Which is heavier, for traction?16,140 kg (35,583 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 9180”15,925 kg (35,109 lb)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8960”EvenEven on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
Which may carry more ballast and load?No figureNo call on maximum permissible mass: no figure on record for the 9180 and the 8960.
Which has the wider choice of gears?12Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 9180”12 to 24Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8960”EvenEven on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers a creeper range?No figureNo call on a creeper range: not stated for the 9180 and the 8960.
Which is faster on the road?30 km/h (18.6 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 9180”30 km/h (18.6 mph) to 40 km/h (24.9 mph)Traktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8960”EvenEven on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
Which offers more PTO speeds?1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 9180”1000 rpmTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8960”EvenEven on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
Which PTO runs independently of the ground drive?independentTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8960”No figureNo call on PTO independence: not stated for the 9180.
Which drives on both axles?4WDTraktorenlexikon, “Case-IH 9180”4WDTraktorenlexikon, “John Deere 8960”EvenEven on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
Which is newer, and what about parts?1987–19901989–1993EvenSame era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.

What does this mean in plain words?

  • The Case-IH 9180 has 106% more lift (5,839 kg / 12,873 lb) than the John Deere 8960 (both lift at the hitch ends, as stated by the source).
  • Even on power at the PTO shaft (both power at the PTO, claimed): the difference is under the 10% threshold for claimed figures, too small to call.
  • Even on weight (both unladen weight, as stated by the source): the difference is under the 10% threshold, too small to call.
  • Even on forward gears (both forward gears, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on top speed (both top speed forward, as stated by the source): the figures vary by configuration and the ranges overlap.
  • Even on PTO speeds: the same speeds (1000 rpm).
  • Even on drive: every machine is available with four-wheel drive.
  • Same era: production began within 5 years of each other. We hold no parts-availability data, so there is no call on parts.
  • No figure on record for every machine, so no call on: fuel efficiency at the shaft, drawbar power, hydraulic flow, maximum permissible mass, a creeper range and PTO independence.

← Every figure for both machines, side by side, with sources